Coco Chanel and wide palazzo pants

brown silk shirt

For hot summer days we choose clothing that is relaxed, easy and cool.  Wide-leg palazzo pants  are making a comeback this  spring / summer, bearing  just those qualities plus being so regal and elegant.

brown and blue outfitAs a fashion stylist who dresses women of all shapes, I am aware that there are many misconceptions about this style of pants. I often hear women say that wide legged pants are only for the tall and thin ones amongst us. I totally disagree! By being aware of your body type and with a few extra styling tip , you too will be able to enjoy this style, creating a long and lean silhouette,  while accentuating your waist or creating  the illusion of  having a slender waistline!

wide sleeves shirt

I was intrigued  to read that Coco Chanel, who was a petite women, had a major influence in making wide Palazzo pants popular with women.

The  end of World War One  saw the beginning of a period which came to be called ‘The roaring ’20 s’. This  was a period of many innovations in modern fashion as a wave of prosperity and optimism swept across and US  woman began entering the work force. It was at this time that Coco Chanel, during a trip to Venice, came across the wide legged trousers as they were a more comfortable way for ladies to get in and out the Gondolas. Rejecting the traditional restrictive perspective on woman’s wear, she introduced the comfortable loose trousers to her line of clothing , eventually creating a  high fashion item.

 

Coco chanel

frilled silk shirt

In the ’30 s the wide pyjama pants became a fashion staple with Hollywood stars who would lounge in them  after each “take”.

butterfly

I loved this royal blue version of palazzo pants as soon as I saw them because of their color, but also because of the  side zip as opposed to pants with a middle zip. I find  middle zip pants to be  more masculine or at least sporty while the side zip is more feminine, like a skirt or a dress

palazzo pants

The wide flared shirt  balances the wide trousers and contributes to accentuating the waistline.

palazzo pants1

rey band sunglasses

Tel Aviv towers

What I am wearing- pants & shirt -H&M ; sandals – Clark’s ; shades – Ray Ban ; pearl neckless – vintage ;silver earrings – bought on my India trip.

(Thanks to http://www.secretcloset.pk/)

Thank you so much for reading and have a great week!

Sara

 

11 responses to “Coco Chanel and wide palazzo pants

  1. Lady of Style

    Amazing look, Sara! I couldn’t agree more and I am currently wearing wide leg trousers and I am only 163cm.
    You look very classy and elegant. Now I am looking for a dark pair too.

    http://elcaprichodemarqueza.blogspot.de/2014/05/cerezos-en-flor-como-telon-de-fondo.html

  2. You look fab.u.lous! Love the entire look…so glam! xx..Cortneybre..
    http://cortneybre.com

  3. Great choice, the pants really look fab on you. And those butterfly earrings are super sweet 🙂
    Anami, xx
    http://www.anamiblog.com

  4. Beautiful combination! looking sleek dear! xxx

  5. Love the palazzo pants! You look so classy! 🙂
    http://littlebookoffashion.wordpress.com/

  6. You look stunning! The pants are absolutely fantastic, I would love to have the same for me

  7. Now you know just how much I love palazzo pants and these are awesome! With this color you can wear any top and for the summer I can see a nautical theme. Happy Hump Day Wednesday!

  8. I am a big fan of wide legged pants/palazzo pants as well, if only for the comfort and lightness in summer.

    Small in stature as well I agree it is all about the styling.

    Alex – Funky Jungle

  9. Hi! I really like your post. I’m Cameron and I’m very interested in fashion. I think you would enjoy my posts; I would really appreciate a follow back! Thanks!

  10. Lovely Outfit, you look so elegant, classy and awesome !! ❤

    http://www.theeche.com

Leave a Reply

