Insights – after a year of blogging

emeralds and jade10

It has been one full year since I started this blog. I have committed myself to post once a week on  subjects which I love : fashion, art and travel.

white leather braclet

What an experience it has been. What a journey…

emeralds and jade4

I get asked often what is the key to successful blogging : So now, after 64 posts that I have written, many new blogger friends and couple hundred followers , I think I can say that I have learned a few things…

emeralds and jade7

One  important thing I learned is that one has to sociable in two arenas : Firstly, through the social media. Twitter, Pinterest , Stumbleupon and Facebook, which are  social sites that  drive  a lot  of traffic to my blog. Secondly, you have to interact with other peoples blogs . Just as one likes others to write and comment on your post and acknowledge  your efforts,  so do the others  too…

emeralds and jade8

It is also very important to  Be Consistent!

If you set out to write once a week or once a month , whichever , stick to it and preferably on the same day of the week! Your followers will get to expect your post. Sticking by your commitment will encourage them to follow your blog. emeralds and jade5

I thought the dress which I am wearing in this post, adorned with emeralds and precious stones, befits the one year blogging celebration. Hope you agree !

jewelery

I   take this opportunity to thank my devoted, talented and good spirited husband who has not fail me as a photographer. Thank you dear!

To all of you, my followers, thank you for the constant encouragement and comments. I hope we will have another wonderful blogging year , filled with fun and creativity!

dress – H&M ; shoes – Legazzelle Italy ; bag – Reisse ; jade bangle – from my trip to China.

Sara

19 responses to “Insights – after a year of blogging

  1. Congratulations on your anniversary blogger, you’ve got to have a very interesting blog. I think your thoughts are right and you will work well. I love your dress, it’s beautiful, it’s a good way to celebrate the anniversary. The accessories are lovely and you look so pretty with this look. In you also spring has arrived … and summer.

  2. Sara, I couldn’t agree more.
    First, I have the same dress but haven’t worn it yet. It looks fabulous on you and I love the silky touch and the colours a lot. Your styling with both blue and green is perfect. I am glad I bought it too 😉
    Second, I am into 6 months of blogging now and you are so right about interacting with fellow bloggers which I find especially rewarding within our 40+ community.
    In the beginning I didn’t have a blog FB account but soon realised it is important and just set up a Twitter account too.
    Furthermore I think you can’t do without Pinterest and our good blogger friend Josep-Maria who pinned your lovely photos today!!

    Annette
    Lady of Style

    • Isn’t the dress lovely? As you also got it I must share with you that looking at my photos I think the dress needs a belt. What do you think?
      I agree we couldn’t have done without our friend Josep. I am rushing to see his latest post…

  3. Awesome and full thoughts with nice n cute presentation 😀

  4. Congrats, Sara! So happy to have discovered you this past year. I always enjoy visiting your blog and think you have a fabulous sense of style! Speaking of which, your beautiful dress is perfect for this special post!

    • Thank you dear. It is so lovely how people, who never met before, become a small “community” around a similar interest. Always great to have you visiting my blog. Sara

  5. HAPPY BLOGIVERSARY – I ENJOY READING AND FOLLOWING YOU ON YOUR JOURNEY.

  6. Thank you Antionette. You have been an important and loyal commentator on my blog. Sara

  7. Thank you so much for your lovely comment on my blog and HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Congrats to your anniversary! I’m a quite new blogger too (blogging since November last year) and it’s one of the most exciting experiences in my life with lots of fun but also hard work! Like the way you’re wearing this wonderful summer dress – so elegant and stylish! Kisses from sunny and hot (35 degrees!!) Vienna,

    Katja

    http://www.collectedbykatja.com

  8. Happy blog anniversary and you look simple but yet chic in that dress of yours, lovely pictures

    • Dear Kimberly, Thank you so much.. I love looking at your blog as I have a soft spot for Africa and an even softer one for Nigeria. I lived is Lagos for almost 3 year with my family. It was a memorable experience getting to know the goodhearted, happy and friendly Nigerians and its amazing beaches.

      • Awww…. Am glad you did, am sure there are beautiful people everywhere, we just have to let ourselves go and see the beauty in others.

  9. A very happy Blog birthday to you! What a lovely dress.. x

  10. Congratulations Sara on one year of blogging!! You look fabulous and your dress is beautiful – you are truly an elegant lady and an inspiration for women over 40!!!

    Pura vida, my dear!!
    ❤ carmen

  11. Lovely you as always ,,, what a great way to celebrate a year!
    Happy Blog-aversary. I know you’ve added a lot of interesting reading to my life! And inspiration for warm weather dressing in another very steamy part of the world, but one far enough away to be exotic! Thanks for all, Sara, and I wish you as many more years of success as you want!

    • Thank you Jan… One of the meaningful outcomes of writing this blog is the acquaintance with goodhearted, well- wishing people, from around the world. While our blogs are concerned mostly with fashion, a vain occupation to some, it has facilitated positive interaction amongst people, which itself is an outcome to be cherished in our day and age.

Leave a Reply

