Blue prints on white -Designers Inspired by Chinese ceramics

001fullscreen

Roberto Cavali

One of the most exciting trends this spring, in my opinion, is white clothing beautifully patterned in  blue .

carolina herera

 I have seen numerous  web claims that this style is inspired by the blue and white porcelain of Delft in Holland. The truth of the matter is  probably that the elegant cool blue and white design  originated in China’s porcelain (“china”) in  even before the first half of the 14th century.

220px-Early_blue_and_white_ware_circa_1335_Jingdezhen

Early Chinese blue and white porcelain, manufactured circa 1335,

By the beginning of the 17th century Chinese blue and white porcelain was being exported directly to Europe. In the 17th and 18th centuries, Oriental blue and white porcelain was highly prized in Europe and America and sometimes enhanced by fine silver and gold mounts, it was collected by kings and princes.

At that time, factories producing white and blue porcelain  also started up in Germany, France, England and also in Delft, Nederland.

images

Back to (the past)  2013 , here are some more of this Springs fashion:

0_873cb_d8fb0e32_XL

Tadashi Shoji

Cavali

Cavali

Cavali was not the only one to be inspired by the beautiful blue and white porcelain. Here is an example of Zuhair Murad’s  winter/spring 2012 hot couture.

Zuhair Murad

Zuhair Murad

And here is a bicycle designed by Francois Duris for the project                                      Be Cycle &Fashion ,  in which 12 designers customized Bikes for Charity.

designer becycle

The next photos is of a modern line of ceramics ordered by the Royal Delft company, designed by various dutch designers. You may see the entire collection here.

A modern take

And now,  after reading such a long post, you are all invitedfor some tea and cookies with me?!

cookies plate

main table closeup (1)

Studio ditte

Studio ditte

In my next post I hope to show my own version for this blue and white trend. Until then…

Have a wonderful week!

Sara

 

12 responses to “Blue prints on white -Designers Inspired by Chinese ceramics

  1. Beautiful post and I love the shoes 🙂

  2. I am soooo happy about this trend! My mother collected blue and white pottery – so this style always makes me think of her. I think it’s classic, gorgeous, and perfect for the warmer weather. Thank you for sharing!

  3. Beautiful! There’s something regal about blue and white. Also refreshing!
    That last dress is truly amazing!

  4. Regal is truly the right word to describe this trend. Thanks!

  5. jangrahammcmillen

    Yes! More from your trip … I love this post. I cut fashion writers too much slack sometimes when they declare sources of historical design inspiration.
    As you point out, there are primary and secondary sources. and it’s good to be able to know and share the difference!

    Every dress or piece here is astonishing, though.

    Speaking of sources … I hoped that you would see my post:
    http://fortsmithstylista.blogspot.com/2013/04/just-saying.html

    I use a very bad photo of one of my old pieces to make a fashion point. I’m so bad to this painting … it’s been hanging in my restaurant for 18 years, but I can’t imagine it hanging anywhere else. The subject might amuse you.

    Again, so glad you’re back, and looking forward to seeing your take on the
    blue-white theme.

    • Thanks, Jan. I looked at your painting and I truly think it is beautifully executed. Their facial features… and the folds of their clothes…the atmosphere…
      I think that people who interpret this painting as “two lesbians sitting together”
      may not after all be very far from your intention in calling it Maddona/magdalene- there is a sense of intimacy, tenderness, friendship between the women, which in some people’s grammar short-circuits to ‘lesbian’ ..Any way ,aren’t we all Maddonas and magdalenes?

  6. Brilliant Blue – love it!

  7. I love the dress by Carolina Herera – it’s very rich looking. Just beautiful!

  8. Adore the over lap of art into fashion. Lovely post!

    blue hue wonderland

Leave a Reply

