Persimmon – art and health muffins

אפרסמון טרי

I began writing this post on the Persimmon fruit  by searching the net for paintings by European Old Masters which include this fruit ( see  previous posts on fruits and art: pomegranate, figs)

To my amazement  I could find none! How is it possible, I asked myself, that this beautiful, voluptuous fruit does not feature in Western art history?

The Persimmon tree, I learnt, was indigenous to Asia and America. Is it possible that the fruit was unknown or at least not yet introduced by traders to Europe in the Middle Ages, Renaissance  or even later?

Hebrew text:

כהרגלי בעת כתיבת פוסט שנושאו פירות, פניתי לרשת האינטרנט בחיפוש אחר יצירות אמנות של המאסטרים בהן מופיע פרי האפרסמון. (ראה קישור לפוסט על רימון ועל תאנים

 הנחתי לתומי שפרי בעל צבע וטעם נפלאים, שצורתו עגולה וסקסית כפרי האפרסמון, היוו מקור השראה לציירים האירופאיים הידועים במאות קודמות.

להפתעתי לא מצאתי אף ציור שכזה של אמנים מאירופה הקלאסית אלא רק של אמנים מהמזרח הרחוק. האם משום שמקורו של עץ האפרסמון הינו מהמזרח  הוא שלא היה מוכר או זמין למאסטרים האירופאים במאות הקודמות כדי לציירו?

The Persimmon does however features very often in the the art of the Far east:

Persimmon tree by Hoitsu Sakai

Persimmon tree by Hoitsu Sakai

13th c. Chinese

                                            6 Persimmons- 13 c. Chinese painting 

Magpie_in_Persimmon_Tree_Chinese_ink_Painting_800x800

Magpie in Persimmon tree – Chinese Painting

Persimmon Muffins

3 cups oat bran

10 gr. baking powder

1/2 tea spoon each: ground ginger, cloves

1 tea spoon each: salt, cinnamon

2/3 cup persimmon puree (see picture below)

1/2 cup honey

2/3 cup milk

2 big egg whites

1 cup grated apple

1/4 cup small raisins

Heat oven to 180’c. oil 2 muffins trays. Mix dry ingredients in one bowl and all other ingredients in another bowl. Add wet ingredients to dry ones and mix well. Pour into muffin tray almost to the edge as muffins do not rise much. Bake for 25 min. until center is stable.

perssimon mash

Persimmon puree

perssimon maffins

Bon Apetite!

9 responses to “Persimmon – art and health muffins

  1. jangrahammcmillen

    I have a little, sad looking persimmon tree at the edge of our drive … it looks a lot like the ones in the Hoitsu Sakai painting, only larger! Here the fruit is consulted to see what the weather will be like in the coming winter, depending on whether the core more closely resembles a spoon, fork or knife. I’d detail that for you, but I’m not up on my local folklore like I should be. I’m so pleased to see this post. Art and food, my favorite things after shoes.

  2. I LOVE persimmons!! I eat them all the time. It’s a very popular fruit in Korea and when I can find them here in the US, I grab them. Your muffins look so delish!

    • I thought persimmons are common in the US… I am planing my first trip ever to the far east in April. Although we are going to China, I hope in the following years we will get to Korea as well.. I am so exited!

  3. They look delish!

  4. I bet these are incredible. I like persimmons, but they aren’t always available here in Alberta. Nice post.

  5. I have eaten persimmons since I was a young child. I still love them. Your muffins look very good and I think I will try making them. Stop by at my blog because I write about food with recipes and also about maintaining good health FOR YOUR GOOD HEALTH marcellarousseau.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

