Fashion – A Green Week / Post 1

Mark Shaw - Green Week

(The Duchess of Bedford- Photographer Mark Shaw)

I fell in love with this photograph of Henrietta Tiarks – the Duchess of Bedford- immediately when I saw it.

It is so beautiful and  so inspiring! The photographer, Mark Shaw, depicts her emerging from the gray surroundings looking as if she is about to conquer the world. (She is wearing a green suit by Jules Francois Crahay of Nina Ricci. The location is the Palais Royale in Paris).

I was so moved by Shaw’s photograph that I was reminded of some  green dresses that I own. While going through my cupboard   the idea emerged: I am going to  have  a  “Green Week” dedicated to all things green that come to my mind…

So, this is the first post of the “Green Week” and it is about my crinkled green dress.

My green dress

The heat and humidity have been so intense in the last few days that I would not dare go outdoors, so I stayed inside the  air-condition room  to take these pictures . I posed  in front of the library at home. Somehow it seems appropriate for a  “Green Week”, don’t you think?

green dress  and library3

I like the crinkled material of this dress and the fact that it is so airy and does not cling to the body. In the heat of summer I would not  tolerate  a different cut.

green dress with painting

green dress with library2

What else do I plan for this week in green?

-Celebrities in green dresses/ Other green dresses spotted

-More Green inspirations…

-Another green dress of mine….

And more

blue and white shoes

 

blue bag Reiss London

dress – Dorit & Yael ; bag – Reiss ; shoes – Fly London ; neckless – African silver & glass (self made), ring – G.R.A.S

7 responses to “Fashion – A Green Week / Post 1

  1. You have the same cheekbones as the Duchess!
    And you look fabulous in the heat. 🙂
    Cheers,
    Laura

  2. You look so lovely in green!!

  3. Thanks Jeannie. One cant be sure with this color.It is not often worn, don’t you think?

  4. I thought that bag might be Reiss when I saw it – they have some lovely bags, I really should invest in one this summer! I like the idea of outfit inspiration from art/photography, I’m a huge fan of Edward Hopper who often paints in the darker colours I like to wear.

    http://www.styleonthecouch.com

    • The Reiss bag actually comes with a story: Once I saw the bag on Reiss’s website I knew I must have it. As Reiss do not do deliveries to Israel, I asked my husband to pop into the store on his next business trip to London. How impressed were the women in his London office when 10 minutes after excused him-self between meetings, he came back with this bag in his arm!
      The Reiss bag actually comes with a story: When I saw the bag on Reiss’s website, I just knew I must have it. As Reiss do not do deliveries to Israel, I asked my husband to pop into the store on his next business trip to London

      Having excused himself from meetings for 10 minutes, the female staff were most impressed when he returned with this bag on his arm,’ to compensate his wife for his long absence!’ Little did they know.
      Hopper can be a great source for inspiration… go for it!

Leave a Reply

