my mother’s bean soup

Food- My mother's bean soap

While having a light lunch with  my friend  and artist Maya Cohen Levy, I learned that she has made ,a while ago ,a conscientious decision to  eat meat  only once a week. As impressed as I was with her effort to “do her bit” for saving the planet, I had to admitt that with my carnivour sons its not going to work.

In solidarity, I made my mother’s bean soup today.  My mother was born in Tunisia and as such, the soup was supposed to be hot and peppery,but as my father was Bulgarian, she had to remove all sign of hot pepper(from  her entire  cooking) and replace it with a pinch of sugar. I think it works out  great, and you?

Ingredients:

1 cup of uncooked white beans

2-3 big onions,

1red sweet paper,

4-5 big tomatoes,

a little olive oil,

1heaped Tbs tomato paste,

salt,black paper,  and if you can locate a Mediterrranean spice Chawayeg – being  a mixture of  corriander tumeric, cardammon  .Don’t forget the apinch of sugar.

Place beans in a heat proof dish and pour boiling water over it to cover and more.

Mix in 1/4 tsp bicarb. of soda.cover and go for your daily routine until totaly cooled down(at least 3 hours).drain and wash well.

Chop all vegetables and fry in 1 Tbs of heated oil starting with the onions. cover the pot, let it simmer until all the vegies are cooked and almost pureed.. Add spices and enough water for a soup consisteny.

One response to “my mother’s bean soup

  1. I was very pleased to seek out this net-site.I wished to thanks in your time for this wonderful read!! I undoubtedly enjoying every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to take a look at new stuff you blog post.

Leave a Reply

